Constructing a replica of Millard Fillmore’s modest Main Street law office, which burned in 1904, has been a longtime goal of the Aurora Historical Society. Another has been to erect a bronze sculpture of the 13th president in East Aurora.
In 2012, the Village of East Aurora deeded to the Aurora Historical Society a parcel of land at the corner of Main Street and Shearer Avenue, adjacent to the Millard Fillmore House. The land had been donated to the village by Dr. John T. Mercer in 1955. As a result of this gift, the sculpture of Millard Fillmore will sit prominently on Main Street and welcome visitors to a premier Presidential Site.
With the help of Fontanese Folts Aubrecht Ernst Architects, PC, plans have been developed for a replica of Fillmore’s law office, which will enhance the educational experience at the Presidential Site and provide the Aurora Historical Society better exhibit space for artifacts related to the career and life of Millard Fillmore.